Another Introduction

Well, I am afraid that most of you are a bit antsy to read some real content posts instead of more introductory ones so I’ll be brief. My name is Miki and I am another of the new writers who will be making a home around here. 

I am a 21 year old Communication major living in between the states of North Carolina and Virginia, USA. I knit, fold origami, crochet, and dabble in some amateur jewelry making.I also run a blog at Two Needles.

I hope to introduce you guys to some neat tutorial links next time I post (I’ve been saving them up for a long time :). But for now I’d like to leave you with an awesome knitting technical site called Tech Knitting.

 It is run by a very clever woman who illustrates her own designs and obviously has a handy grip on solving problems. If you ever run  a sticky knitting problem and it’s too late to call up anyone, then this is the place to go.  Solutions range from how to join yarn, to picking up a missed increase or decrease that you should have done a couple of rows down, to reading knitting charts, or even how to how to get the stink out of wooly clothes :).  

Knittinghelp also has handy video guides for you to watch in case you are unsure if you are purling or knitting correctly.She has a great tutorial on the different techniques of knitting, i.e. English, Continental and even Norwegian Purling!  Also be sure to check our her extensive collection of increases and decreases, she really does us knitters a favor by matching them up so you can be sure that your chosen increase and decrease match on each side for perfect design symmetry.

I learned how to knit using this site and it worked for me. Remember, I’m not only an advocate of Knitting Help, but I’m also a customer :).

Leave a comment

Filed under Introduction, Knitting

Leave a comment