Oelliet Headband Pattern

 A while ago I got my hands on an old stitch book at my local campus library and decided to experiment with designing.For those who are interested in getting their feet wet by creating patterns of your own, a headband is a great way to start.My first foray resulted in the Oelliet Headband

I’ll briefly go into a few steps on how you can create your own in case you want to dip your foot in the water of cretin your own pattern.First, decide one a stitch pattern.  You can use knitting books in your personal library, borrow from your public library, or use the countless stitch dictionaries available online and searchable through Google.

All stitch patterns should come with a stitch count. It looks something like “multiple of 4 st +2” and is usually located at the beginning of the stitch pattern.  

These numbers mean the pattern is worked over a certain number of stitches which, in this case, are divisible by 4 (such as 8,12,24, etc.)  But that’s not all!  There is also the “+2” part which means that not only is the stitch pattern worked over a number of stitches that are divisible by 4, but you also have to add two more stitches to the sum total.

for  example, if I want to work the above stitch pattern I would have to make sure that I have the correct amount of stitches on my needle so the whole pattern will be included and not be cut off (because then it would look all funky).

I want to make a headband, which are skinny items.  So I cast on 8 stitches (divisible by 4) and add on 2 extra stitches to the end.  Voila!  If you wanted to make a dishcloth, you could cast on 32 stitches (also divisible by 4) and then add 2 stitches to the end.  If you are uncertain how many stitches to cast on to reach the right length, remember your gauge!  

Gauge multiplied by how many inches you want your item to be = the number of stitches to cast on.

So…back to my headband pattern.  I figured out the number of stitches that I needed for the main body of my headband (I used the stitch multiple that my stitch book told me) and I figured out the width (how wide) I wanted my headband to be (gauge x wanted width).

To make the ties, I simple created one long icord and then increased evenly on both sides to add on the correct number of stitches for the headband body.  Once the length was as long as I wanted it to be, I decreased evenly until I had the same number of stitches I had when I began and did another icord.

Sound easy?  It is!  Get going and find a stitch pattern! 

Just thought that I would let everyone know that Craft Tutorials has moved to crafttutorials.net

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting

Leave a Reply

