Felted Camera Cases

How to Make a Felted Camera Case.

Last Christmas, I created two camera cases, through trial and error, for myself and mother. I had some lovely malabrigo yarn that I had dyed with kool-aid, but only one skein.We knitters are always running a battle with using up our stash or that single skein we bought on a whim.

Take a look at this tutorial and try it out yourself if you are into self-design.It isn’t a true tutorial as you don’t have a full pattern, but it gives you an idea of how to start as well as tips and tricks of felting.One thing I learned was that the felting shrinks the piece more height-wise than widthwise.

Also, felting is good material for cases and cozies since it provides a thicker surface for the thing it is protecting. I didn’t want pens and sharp keys to poke into my camera while it was jiggling around in my purse, and felted yarn provided the stability that loose knits and purls couldn’t.

Also, when you line the case, always stick your needle in halfway through the felted fabric and then come back out to catch the lining. Don’t let your thread show out through the front of the knit surface!

Just thought that I would let everyone know that Craft Tutorials has moved to crafttutorials.net

Leave a comment

Filed under Learn To Knit

Leave a Reply

